Monday, September 14, 2009

Blame it on the...

Every time you think Kanye can't take it any further. He manages to push the envelope until it is busting at the seams. Last week I was shocked at the disrespect of a certain senator from South Carolina, this week I am again appalled at the disrespect showed to new artist Taylor Swift. For those of you who didn't see it, I'm sure you've heard about it, but I will recap. Taylor Swift was giving her acceptance speech for best female video when Kanye approached the stage and interrupted her stating how much better Beyonce's video was. I'm sure after that display B and her husband Jay-Z have a few words to say to Kanye.

I can't imagine being a teenager, on stage and accepting an award and being interrupted by a drunk rapper. Kayne just lost some cool points in my book.

3 comments:

  1. uummmm I’ve been trying to figure out all day what the big deal is and why people aren’t as upset with MTV as they are with Kanye. I don’t think Kanye was wrong for expressing his opinion.. inappropriate, yes. But wrong? No. He says what everyone is thinking every year when someone gets ‘robbed’ for an award at these shows(mtv, vhi, ama, oscars, golden globe)…”how the hell did he or she win that award?”
    I dont think what he did was earth shattering. People are acting like he's the anti-christ. Taylor is a big girl.. she’ll be 20 next month.. She'll be 'aight. Lets stop acting like she’s 13 and Kanye went ape shit on a baby. The industry is ugly.. but that's life. Toughen up.
    BUT more importantly let’s talk about MTV’s role. If it’s really about disrespect, Taylor’s feelings or what have you, why did they air it? This was not a live show. This show was recorded Saturday, September 12th. They had 2 days to edit it out. Not only that, Kanye had been on the red carpet for a good amount of time, drinking Hennessey from the bottle while posing for the cam and talking to his friends. They (mtv) was hoping and wishing Kanye would act up. It’s all for the ratings.. If I see someone outside drinking Hennessey and getting drunk, and I let him in my establishment and that person acts a fool who's fault is that? MINE! They don’t give a damn about Taylor just like Kanye didn’t. ANd guess what they’re doing now? Airing it again.. THAT's more offensive than anything. I’m not buying it… wake me when he does something REALLY wrong *yawn*

    ReplyDelete
  2. Kanye is Kanye...you either love him or hate him. :) I'm not a fan.

    ReplyDelete
  3. MTV was wrong, But a man has to be accountable for his own actions. Kanye was out of line. I personally am getting tired of his outburst. It is ridiculous to crush someone like that who has done nothing to deserve it. It's really ridiculous when a grown man does it to a child. Regardless of her age she is still a child, who has worked hard and gained fans who love her.
    I put myself in her shoes and I know how I would feel at that age and that was said to me.
    Kanye needs to sit down somewhere and shut the hell up.

    ReplyDelete

Follow Cocoa Chicks on twitter: http://twitter.com/CocoaCritiques